Skip to content

My First Book is Out!

1 July 2010

My first book is finally out!!! It’s taken about five years to write, revise, cleanup, format, edit, and publish, but Giraffe Tracks is available as of today! I’ll have it on its own webpage soon, but the webpage isn’t ready yet, so for now I’m linking to straight the store from my blog.

So far, it’s available in:

Softbound book

Hardbound book

PDF download

Kindle book

or you can Read a Sample

I was hoping to release the audio book at the same time as the book release, but couldn’t have it ready in time.

If there is a format that you would want to buy it in that is not listed above, let me know. I’d like people to be able to buy it in whatever format they want, even if it’s .doc, .jpg or even .mov (that would be interesting). If you’re willing to buy it in a certain format, I’ll make it in that format and sell it at the same price as any digital text format.

I’m publishing it through Willowrise Press, which is my family’s independent publishing company.

Anyway, please buy it!

Here’s the blurb from the back of the book, so you can get an idea what it’s about:

By the late 1990’s, South Africa was in the midst of heavy political and social turmoil. With the ending of Apartheid in 1994, which was a legalized system of racial segregation which heavily curtailed the rights of the black population, the country was left in a dangerously challenging situation. The white population, who had enjoyed relative wealth, government protection, and exclusive employment opportunities, were now forced to share those resources with the massive majority population of native black Africans.

Native Africans, who had been socially, economically, and physically oppressed for centuries, were now allowed to leave their reservation-like townships and come into the cities and suburbs. Having been held back for so long, black Africans continued to experience severe poverty. As new opportunities were thrown at them, poverty-driven crime rose to a frightening level, leaving sour feelings in the hearts of the country’s general population. It became a time of anger, reunion, bitter feelings, fear, and hope.

Giraffe Tracks is the true story of an LDS missionary serving in the Johannesburg, South Africa Mission only a few years after the ending of Apartheid. Using compelling stories, humor, and spiritual insight, the story demonstrates that even in a land overflowing with crime, poverty, and racial hatred, peace and joy can be found through the gospel of Jesus Christ. As the powers of evil shake the foundations of human society, the truth and light carried in the testimonies of the Lord’s missionaries can change hearts, heal minds, and turn fear and hatred into faith and love.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 4 October 2010 9:16 am

    So what about on DVD does the book come that way? Wanting to see about sending it to the Missinary while he is out there living the life so please tell me.

  2. 4 October 2010 3:26 pm

    Thanks for the comment, Brooke! I’d like to make it available in whatever formats I can, so I can certainly try! Just to give you an idea of what I could do:

    DVD data disk would be easy – as a PDF or audio (still putting it in audio format)
    DVD movie format – If I made it audio without visual, it could be done as soon as the audio is recorded.
    DVD Movie with audio and visual would probably take a while – I’ll have to think about some ideas for how to do that, but I should warn you if I did this it would probably not be ready before your missionary comes home.

    If you just want to send him the file format on a CD, you could just purchase the PDF download version and burn it onto a disk. Of course, he’d need a computer to read it, but that’s one option.

    Actually, the simplest method for a missionary who is now in the field is probably to order the softbound book at Amazon and set the shipping address to his address in the field, with his name in the address. Amazon can ship straight to South Africa. Or if you wanted, you could order it to your house and ship it to him from home.

    The Amazon link is http://www.amazon.com/Giraffe-Tracks-Chas-Hathaway/dp/B00414BZUU/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1286227245&sr=8-2

    Let me know if you have any other formats you’d like to see it in!

    Chas

  3. 5 October 2010 11:21 am

    OK. So I bought the book. I am excited to read about my favorite area – VTown. I wish I were comps with you my whole mission – not only because you were one of my favorite companies but also because my journals are so very empty…. I am glad I have this so my kids can read about some of the best experiences I had in South Africa.

    Thanks for doing this.

    – Michael (Elder Gattuso!)

  4. 8 October 2010 12:50 pm

    Awesome Michael! I think I mentioned it in the book, but you were probably my favorite comp. I miss Vtown, too. I’d love to go back and visit someday! Thanks, man!

    Chas

  5. 8 October 2010 12:52 pm

    By the way, what ever happened to that two year old girl that insisted she was going to marry you someday? I remember when you showed her a photo of you kissing your girlfriend she insisted it was your mom. LOL!!!

  6. 1 January 2011 1:15 am

    Hey, congrats on the book. What a wonderful achievement and contribution for missionaries! Happy New Year- hope you find much success in your endeavors.

  7. 18 February 2011 3:32 pm

    How Chas, you have been busy! I am going to come back here and read your blog. I loved my mission and miss Africa! I have good memories of going on exchages with you in Germiston several times!

  8. 20 February 2011 8:39 am

    Hey Elder Jenkins! So good to see you on here! As you can probably tell, I’ve been a little slow at this blog, but I’m excited to share more stories and thoughts about Africa. I was just thinking it might be fun to get a bunch of South Africa RMs and make this a multi-author blog, and get stories and stuff from a bunch of guys.

    Anyway, keep coming back!

Leave a Reply

